Because it’s fun and nice to drink

September 5, 2009 at 5:06 pm Leave a comment

Over 200 years ago, the Japanese poet Yosa Buson wrote the following words:

I cannot see her tonight
I have to give her up
So I will eat Fugu.

Today I’m placing an order for sake glasses that we can use for Fugu Hire-zake.  Fugu Hire-zake is the fins of the puffer fish (fugu) that are grilled and served in hot sake.

fugu_sake[1] 
(From Jim Gray’s travel photos)

Two things I love.  Sake and a death wish.  Can’t wait!

Actually I’m surprised I haven’t been able to find this drink or any variation of grilled fish mixed with hot sake. One of the pleasant memories I have from Japan is when I was in Shirakawa (a small mountain village – so everything shuts at night) and we bought some cheap sake, a hollowed out bamboo vase, and grilled fish to soak in the hot alcohol. It tasted great!

Shirakawago_Japanese_Old_Village_003[1] 

Entry filed under: Menu.

Observations from Friday A vow to stand

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Standing Sushi Bar

Join us at our branches in Singapore's fast-paced Raffles Place business district or unwind in our flagship branch located in the Bras Basah Arts & Historic neighborhood. High-quality, healthy, affordable dining. Open at Marina Bay Link Mall and 8 Queen Street!


eat@standingsushibar.com

Categories

Pages

September 2009
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930