After hours

November 17, 2009 at 12:51 am 3 comments

Sitting here at my desk with whiskey in hand, shaking it and listening to the ice cubes crackle and ding against the side of the glass… I stare at the pile of paperwork I need to clear.

Since it’s late at night I might as well drink to the songs of Bob Dylan.

It’s a nightly ritual (the paperwork, not Dylan). Come home and flip through the invoices of the day. This supplier brought this fish, another supplier brought us some beer, my favorite supplier restocked our sake.  GST, PTE, CPF, what other 3 letter acronyms do I need to learn?

Are we low on ginger? Are we out of yuzu ice cream? Did we end up with an extra 2 kg of salmon?  A thorough inventory is an ideal… at a sushi bar inventory is changing on an hourly basis. Typhoon in Japan? Goodbye to next week’s cargo delivery.

And the government departments that send me mail… NEA, MOM, IRAS, CPF are but a few. Every time I get a letter from them I fear it’s because I’ve submitted something incorrectly.

It’s no wonder I drink before starting this.

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous.

The Fall of the Wall Promotion! Is this what they think in Denmark?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Frank Chua  |  November 18, 2009 at 12:08 am

    I look forward to dining at SSB on Friday after hearing so much about if while i was overseas. From your Social Media promotions, everything seems fantastic. Can’t wait for Friday.

    Reply
  • 2. Jazz78  |  November 18, 2009 at 12:44 am

    Spoken like a truly, madly, deeply dedicated owner. I’m sure SSB has collected for you, tons of new experiences for 2009! 🙂

    And somehow, this came to my mind while picturing you in the heaps of paperwork… hope things aren’t as bad for you…heh

    “…I was burned out from exhaustion buried in the hail
    Poisoned in the bushes and blown out on the trail
    Hunted like a crocodile ravaged in the corn
    ‘Come in’ she said
    ‘I’ll give you Shelter from the Storm’…”

    Reply
  • 3. Dominic  |  December 6, 2009 at 8:03 pm

    Sound like a “sigh of joy” of a owner of a successful venture ;), I have read all your entries on this blog in one go. Really exciting.

    I would really appreciate if you could share with me your experience in more details, as I am looking to start my sushi business in the near future. Please email me, Thanks a lot!

    Too bad I am not anywhere near Singapore, but when I do, I’ll surely drop by to eat at your restaurant.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Standing Sushi Bar

Join us at our branches in Singapore's fast-paced Raffles Place business district or unwind in our flagship branch located in the Bras Basah Arts & Historic neighborhood. High-quality, healthy, affordable dining. Open at Marina Bay Link Mall and 8 Queen Street!


eat@standingsushibar.com

Categories

Sushi on Twitter

Pages

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

