A birthday meal

October 12, 2009 at 5:34 pm 6 comments

(Written on Saturday)

This is going to sound self-indulgent and promotional but it’s my birthday and I shall do what I want!

Typically I try to avoid eating in the restaurant. I feel it’s strange if I’m wearing our sushi bar t-shirt, eating the food, and not paying for it.  The ‘business’-guy in me thinks about how if I eat it, well, I’m losing money since it’s less sushi for me to sell.  I usually end up eating the leftover take-away after we have closed.

Anyway, I was at the restaurant in the afternoon, and it had been a somewhat stressful day.  I decided, “Hey! It’s my birthday, and I want to eat my own sushi freshly made.”  So I did.

I asked for the hotate (scallop) aburi with mentai sauce that people have been raving about, anago, ika, kanpachi (we only have this sporadically – hard to get!), salmon belly, salmon aburi with yuzu mayo, and mentaiko.

I stood, I ate.  It was a feast.

And I’m going to declare it: It was good.  Seriously good. As in some of the best sushi I have ever had.  The kanpachi (wild yellowtail) was ‘crunchy’ – it’s like you could feel the strength it has from swimming free rather than being farmed. Anago had a cleaner and lighter taste than unagi (saltwater eel versus freshwater eel), and the sauces Roy used for the aburi sushi were awesome.

I’ve kept on top of reviews and comments about the restaurant. I’m happy that people are saying lots of positive things.  Now that I’ve tried it out myself, I’m really pleased with how things have turned out.

Can we do things better?  Of course we can.  I think we nailed the core concept though.  High-quality sushi, easygoing place.

Entry filed under: General, Presentation.

Friday I’m in love Empires

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jamie  |  October 13, 2009 at 12:43 pm

    finally! like I mean finally there’s something decent to eat around Raffles place! I’ve been eating so much sandwiches that I’m tired of it.

    I dropped by the shop today for the first time after walking past it this morning. Needed to do a takeout as the phone kept ringing calling me back to office *grr* and you/howard greeted me asking if I wanted to order when I’ve already placed mine. So surprised!!

    Great stuff and the sushi’s greaaaaaaaat! I don’t have to feel guilty eating all the gluten/bread/meats. Keep it up, I should be a regular from today onward 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. alkanphel  |  October 13, 2009 at 3:47 pm

    You finally got to eat the true sushi at your own place! 😀

    Reply
  • 3. Niniane  |  October 16, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    Yay!!! That sounds awesome! I’m so glad you had a good birthday meal.

    I can’t wait to eat it myself!

    Reply
  • 4. Lilyann  |  October 27, 2009 at 1:44 am

    This sounds awesome, I HAVE to go visit you guys soon!

    Reply
  • 5. Alfonso Pate  |  May 28, 2010 at 1:15 pm

    If only more than 18 people would read about this.

    Reply
  • 6. Haley Clifford  |  May 30, 2010 at 11:15 pm

    If only I had a nickel for each time I came to standingsushibar.wordpress.com… Superb writing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Standing Sushi Bar

Join us at our branches in Singapore's fast-paced Raffles Place business district or unwind in our flagship branch located in the Bras Basah Arts & Historic neighborhood. High-quality, healthy, affordable dining. Open at Marina Bay Link Mall and 8 Queen Street!


eat@standingsushibar.com

Categories

Sushi on Twitter

Pages

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

