The standing sushi bar to start them all

August 19, 2009 at 4:26 am 3 comments

It’s finally here.  Opening day!  The lack of sleep and frenetic work that has defined the past couple weeks has left me in a state of mind where I can’t quite believe what’s happening.

It was a little over a year ago when I was in Tokyo and went to my first standing sushi bar (Uogashi Nihon-Ichi). I had been in Japan for about a week, eating my way around Nagoya, Shirakawa, and Tokyo when I chanced upon this eatery in Shibuya.  A couple blocks past the world’s busiest Starbucks and along the same street as a Mcdonalds.

Uogashi Nihon-Ichi standing sushi bar shibuya

A friend of mine was just in Tokyo and went to the exact same sushi bar. I hadn’t taken photos of it so was very pleased she sent these to me.

stand and eat!

There are a lot of reasons why this sushi bar resonated with me. I’ve been laying here in bed thinking about that April. It was a nice time, I was with a nice girl, and I love sushi.

Entry filed under: General, Miscellaneous.

Wow, this is harder than expected! Day 1

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Uncle Vinny  |  August 19, 2009 at 7:29 am

    Congrats, amigo! Hopefully you’ll catch up on some sleep one of these days… 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. gladlyCast  |  August 19, 2009 at 10:24 pm

    Congrats for your launch, it’s a good concept and will visit some day. 😀

    Reply
  • 3. euniqueflair  |  September 1, 2009 at 10:05 pm

    i’ve tried standing sushi bar when i was in tokyo too. awesome stuff. gonna visit yours this month.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Standing Sushi Bar

Join us at our branches in Singapore's fast-paced Raffles Place business district or unwind in our flagship branch located in the Bras Basah Arts & Historic neighborhood. High-quality, healthy, affordable dining. Open at Marina Bay Link Mall and 8 Queen Street!


eat@standingsushibar.com

Categories

Sushi on Twitter

Pages

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

