Wow, this is harder than expected!

August 18, 2009 at 6:35 am 2 comments

5:50 in the morning.  Went to sleep a little past midnight and woke up at 3 am. Maybe it’s from the jet lag… a week in Seattle trying to adjust to Pacific time only managed to screw up my internal body clock now that I’m back in Singapore. I don’t think it’s the jet lag though, I think it’s the sushi bar.

After a month of delays, we’re FINALLY looking at an opening date. It was going to be August 20, but amusingly enough, that falls on the first day of the 7th month.  Hungry Ghost Festival.  Singapore is still a land of traditions and customs, and belief is that opening a new business (particularly F&B) during the 7th month is a bad, bad thing to do.

Okay. I’m not one for such practices but the folks dining at the restaurant may be. I received many unsolicited comments today about the dangers of the August 20 opening date that I’m convinced we need to open on August 19.

There is a lot to do in the next 36 hours. Top on the list – get that food shop license! Without the license my restaurant is just a showroom for people to admire.  We passed the inspection last week, but I still need to submit some paperwork. Spent 2 hours today at their office waiting in line only to be told that I need a copy of Kawa-san’s (our Japanese chef) employment pass. This wasn’t listed on the items that are required for submission. So it’s back to the NEA I go later this morning.

What else… we need to contact all the suppliers we have earmarked to order our fish and foodstuffs from. Then pray that they’re able to live up to what they say in terms of delivery times. Quality we’ve already determined, but when dealing with things like fresh fish and air cargo you never know when things get held up through customs.

Zooey Deschanel 
Random photo of one of my favorite actresses – Zooey Deschanel. I love you. Come stand and eat at my sushi bar if you’re ever here in Singapore. You’ll enjoy it. We will eat salmon nigiri and drink cold sake together. Wait, are you vegetarian?

At some point I need to buy a ton of Coke, 7 Up, and Ice Green Tea. And their “Light” versions.

The Point-of-Sale people will come later today to finish the installation of the machines and hook it up to the computer system. It would be difficult to actually earn money on this venture if I’m unable to take cash and credit cards.

Uniforms and shirts are arriving today. I hope they fit.

Construction hoarding needs to be removed tonight and touch-up work inside the shop needs to be completed.

The take-away people weren’t able to complete our bags on time so I need to figure out what to do for a temporary solution.

No one knows how to use the credit card machine. 🙂

The chefs have been discussing all the specials and customizations we can do. True beauty of a sushi bar… every piece you order can be customized. Just talk to the chef since he’s right in front of you.  This is leading to minor havoc with creating a static menu. Where do we list the items that we’ll have daily? Where will we put the frequent specials and seasonal items?  All of this needs to get written on the glass boards.  Our printed menus keep changing.

Only one person knows how to operate the dishwasher. (So far – and by operate I mean adjust all the cleaning solutions that have to be poured into the machine so it can work its magic… cleans dishes in only 2 minutes!)

Kitchen equipment people are coming later today to collect a big fat check from me.

We need to buy more paper towels, sponges, and cleaning supplies. Keeping the restaurant clean eats through these materials with a quickness. (I love that line – ‘with a quickness’ – it was from Herbert Kornfeld’s column in The Onion… go read it).

I need to buy a first aid kit in case someone impales themselves on one of our sushi knives.

Printing out flyers for opening day would be a good thing to do. Arranging someone to distribute them would also help.

Similar to the menu, we need to finalize the ordering sheet which is what the chefs will use to keep track of who ordered what.

Did I mention I need to buy a safe?  And re-confirm it fits in the space I want to put it.

The illustrator who is decorating our long wall is a little behind. Need to figure out when he can put his work up. I’m excited to see what he’s going to unveil.

I need to fill out the extra insurance paperwork and submit a cheque.

Tonight and tomorrow morning we’ll continue with staff training.

People keep telling me to prepare a press kit. Need to organize some photographs of our food, the interior, bios of the chefs, concept, menu, etc.

Figure out what the heck this bill I got from some Australian bank is about… I think it’s the link for American Express when they credit my account for card transactions. But we had negotiated no setup cost…

It’s time to submit salaries and use the CPF system soon.  The directions are confusing.

Enough procrastinating. Might as well start the day. I don’t think I’ll fall back asleep.

I am looking forward to a donut from Donut Empire (across from my sushi restaurant).

killer ice cream

Entry filed under: General, Starting-up.

Sushi in life The standing sushi bar to start them all

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. gitbuddy  |  August 18, 2009 at 10:14 am

    You could have done half those things in the time it took to write this long post…

    Reply
  • 2. alkanphel  |  August 18, 2009 at 4:32 pm

    Maybe consider an online menu if your printed menu keeps changing? Easy to update those seasonal specials as well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Standing Sushi Bar

Join us at our branches in Singapore's fast-paced Raffles Place business district or unwind in our flagship branch located in the Bras Basah Arts & Historic neighborhood. High-quality, healthy, affordable dining. Open at Marina Bay Link Mall and 8 Queen Street!


eat@standingsushibar.com

Categories

Sushi on Twitter

Pages

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

