I am like a prized tuna

August 12, 2009 at 9:52 pm 4 comments

I have been outside for a total of 3 minutes in the past 4 days.  Outdoors time = hotel door to taxi + taxi door to office + office to taxi + taxi door to hotel.

When fishermen catch a tuna, they try to minimize the tuna’s exposure to air. It keeps the meat as fresh as possible.

In my case, I will just develop a Vitamin D deficiency.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Sushi Haikus 7, 8, 9, and 10 Sushi in life

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. fleck  |  August 12, 2009 at 11:33 pm

    Hi! Chanced upon your blog and found out about your sushi venture… I was in Tokyo 2 weeks ago and love the standing sushi bars! Have you been to those in Shinjuku/Shibuya? Anyway, will you serve ‘aburi’ sushi – the flame-torched kind. It’s great!

    Reply
  • 2. stand4sushi  |  August 12, 2009 at 11:41 pm

    Hi fleck! Yep, the standing sushi bars in Tokyo are where I got my idea from! Coincidentally a friend was just there last week and sent me photos from the exact standing sushi bar in Shibuya that inspired me to try to recreate the concept in Singapore.

    Definitely will have aburi. In Tokyo I loved watching the chefs take the torch and flame the fish. It brings out a different flavor. And nicely it was same price aburi or not! I’ll do the same.

    Now if only the government would hurry up and approve my restaurant license so I could open…

    Reply
  • 3. Lawrence  |  August 13, 2009 at 8:12 pm

    Can’t wait for your store to open! I am a fan of Japanese food and will definitely check your store out!

    Reply
  • 4. Jo  |  August 17, 2009 at 9:20 pm

    Will definitely drop by Standing Sushi Bar first chance I get. Btw your blog’s been really entertaining and I’ve learnt some stuff about sushi, salmon and now tuna. Please do not ever lose your sense of humour 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Standing Sushi Bar

Join us at our branches in Singapore's fast-paced Raffles Place business district or unwind in our flagship branch located in the Bras Basah Arts & Historic neighborhood. High-quality, healthy, affordable dining. Open at Marina Bay Link Mall and 8 Queen Street!


eat@standingsushibar.com

Categories

Sushi on Twitter

Pages

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

