Japanese Characters in logo?

April 24, 2009 at 1:39 pm 5 comments

The current logo for Standing Sushi Bar was created for the pitch to get shop space at OUB Centre. While I like the logo, it’s a draft and the design team is now brainstorming a new one.

I am considering adding Japanese to the logo – the characters that mean “Standing Sushi Bar.” 立ち食い寿司  Literal translation would be “standing eating sushi” which, in hindsight, would have been a catchy name to use for the restaurant.

I’m hoping with the Japanese characters in the logo, it would encourage Japanese to patronize the restaurant.  The worry is it may dissuade non-Japanese customers as they will see Japanese characters, a Japanese sushi chef, and a concept that is different to anything else in Singapore.  Could be intimidating.  I walked out of Potbelly’s in Chicago because I had no idea how to order and everyone else there was “in the know.”

Current logo:

The bright colors and standing sushi in the logo are fun… provides a whimsical look. My worry is that it may contrast too much with the interior of the restaurant.  Being at the heart of the business district, I may need to have it more subdued and sleek.  Hmm.

Digg This
Entry filed under: Starting-up, Store.

Ultimate Business Card? Sushi Party – SGP!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Loke  |  April 24, 2009 at 11:12 pm

    No offence to yr shop…but i think opening in raffles place seems abit risky..the crowd might be there for lunch but dinner and weekends??? i have been in the japanese food industry for quite a number of years..and i got a few frds who are working at raffles place now and they always give me the same feedback..maybe u can email me and i will let u know more.

    Reply
  • 2. stand4sushi  |  April 25, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    @Loke – no offence taken! Thanks for the comment. I’ll contact you by e-mail also; I’d love to hear your experiences.

    For Standing Sushi Bar I’ve based the business model on lunchtime 5 days a week. So I’m not counting on much dinner or weekend traffic; of course if I do happen to get dinner traffic that would be a pleasant bonus. (And I am still thinking of what kind of effort I can do to attract a dinner crowd, but the main focus is on the lunch crowd).

    The potential for error is the lunch-time crowd I’m counting on… I have done some research but in the end went with gut feel about how many people will reasonably do dine-in and take-away during the lunch hours. I hope for an average of 200 people a day split between dine-in and take-away.

    Does the 200 figure seem realistic?

    Reply
  • 3. Tim  |  April 27, 2009 at 1:03 am

    subway can easily do 200 for lunch in RP. they got 3 servers and its a takeaway – other considerations: price point, takeaway or sit down. your best comparison is sakae sushi at oub basement. i think 200 is possible for an branded F&B biz and the key to your success is office catering for meetings. not dinner crowd. you can essentially double the biz w/o worrying about table turnovers, increasing staff numbers.

    Reply
  • 4. stand4sushi  |  April 27, 2009 at 9:04 pm

    @Tim I’m thinking about whether to offer office catering / delivery as soon as the store is open in July or whether that is something I should add on later after ensuring that daily operations at the restaurant are running smoothly. I suppose catering does have a higher profit margin than feeding individual diners at the restaurant.

    Something I have been meaning to write another entry about (and I have many entries rattling around in my head) is about Sakae and them being my primary competition. In fact the Standing Sushi Bar will be opening up directly across from them in the basement of OUB Centre. 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. elsie  |  April 28, 2009 at 11:22 am

    i’m very glad & proud that this is becoming a reality. daring to dream, there can be no greater feeling.
    remember to stick to the winning formula: low prices, shiso leaf plates & very hot torches.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Standing Sushi Bar

Join us at our branches in Singapore's fast-paced Raffles Place business district or unwind in our flagship branch located in the Bras Basah Arts & Historic neighborhood. High-quality, healthy, affordable dining. Open at Marina Bay Link Mall and 8 Queen Street!


eat@standingsushibar.com

Categories

Sushi on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Pages

April 2009
M T W T F S S
    May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

