Kids these days!

November 8, 2011 at 9:11 am 3 comments

I must be getting old.  I want to go on a rant about kids these days.  Specifically 15 year olds.

If you ask any F&B person they’ll tell you that the manpower situation in Singapore is dire.  Citizens and PRs simply aren’t applying for the jobs.

I’ve been short-staffed on service crew for what seems like forever, so I decided to offer a high hourly wage for starting service crew members to see if more people would apply.  (7 SGD versus what seems to be an industry norm of 5.50 – 6.00 SGD).

Received 4 applicants who are Singapore citizens.  I suppose the timing of school holidays played a part – these were all 15 year olds applying.  Of course this is 4 more citizen applicants than my series of ads that ran on all the major job portals, so I was feeling happy.

I hired all 4.  3 of them lasted 1 day or less.  1 is still working at the restaurant (thank goodness).

Kid #1 and #2:  They were friends so applied together.  45 minutes late to the interview and extremely rude on the phone when they called me to find out how to get to the restaurant.  I figured I would give them a chance though.

First day of work – when asked to do anything, kid #1 would respond with “Why?” and ask why the other staff member (who was doing something else) couldn’t do it.  Horribly bad attitude, no initiative, and simply rude.  So I fired her.

Kid #2, second day of work. 1 hour into the shift says, "I think I’m sick, I’m going to leave.”  Let’s just say I was highly skeptical that she was actually sick.  So I fired her.

Kid #3: She applied via e-mail and on Wednesday afternoon we confirmed she would start on Friday morning.  Friday morning came, and she didn’t show up.  I wrote her and asked what happened and have not received a response.

The quest for staff continues.

Entry filed under: Staffing. Tags: .

October 29 Dinner Blog moving to www.standingsushibar.com/blog

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. j0elle  |  November 9, 2011 at 10:48 pm

    I hear you. We’ve hired poly grads for jobs in an office environment and had people not turn up for interviews without notifying, work 3 days then go totally MIA and not even ask for those days’ pay… So much so that I try not to have any hopes of getting anyone decent so there’s less disappointment. Tough road. Ganbatte!

    Reply
  • 2. lilian  |  January 6, 2012 at 10:46 am

    Horrible kids hah! Banned them from your SSB next time…haha

    Reply
  • 3. Nur Fatin  |  November 15, 2013 at 8:36 pm

    Hi. I’m 14 turning 15 in 14 more days. I would like to know whether the position is still open. Where the restaurant is too. I hope to get a reply from you soon. You can update me at my email, nurfatinkeycheo@gmail.com. I’m looking forward to your email. Thank you. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Standing Sushi Bar

Join us at our branches in Singapore's fast-paced Raffles Place business district or unwind in our flagship branch located in the Bras Basah Arts & Historic neighborhood. High-quality, healthy, affordable dining. Open at Marina Bay Link Mall and 8 Queen Street!


eat@standingsushibar.com

Categories

Sushi on Twitter

  • @xwmin Hi, sure! Your reservation is noted - can you give me your name to put on the reservation? 1 day ago
  • @xwmin Hi! For which day at 8PM and which branch? 1 day ago
  • @xwmin Hi! We do accept reservations but for Mon - Thurs they tend to fill up a week ahead of time. 3 days ago
  • @m_arvelousfel Our love for salmon extends to every day! :D Thanks for coming in! 5 days ago
  • @xwmin Well, we would vote for Standing Sushi Bar. :D Though I think you can't go wrong with either choice! Sushi FTW! 5 days ago

Pages

November 2011
M T W T F S S
« Oct    
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

